Posted by: youareuseless | July 24, 2010

Equal and Opposite

This is for One Single Impression, found at onesingleimpression.blogspot.com. The theme this week: preponderance.

This unrest must outweigh his taut shoulders,
His closed mouth, his fierce dark eyes.

Baby! Why?

We closed our eyes and listened to Brahms
On your plaid bed. It was a pretense, or it wasn’t.
A sweet secret, then your mouth on my neck.

There’s someone else. Isn’t there!

Yes. I cast you off. You were too heavy.
Granite on my stifled heart. I cast you off.

You say I’m flighty. I might be.
If I’m in flight, it’s from your force
And my labored choice.

Copyright Megan Kennedy 2010


Leave a Reply

Categories

