Posted by: youareuseless | July 18, 2010

Source

I would like to thank Esther at the YouTube channel yogatic for the inspiration for this poem.

Open your sitbones, she says.
I picture a dinosaur pelvis,
Opened by two archaeologists,
Like the wishbone at Thanksgiving dinner.

Turn your thighs away from each other.
My thighs do what I ask, though I don’t know what I’m asking.

The sitbones open, like Newton’s balls
Rolling in opposite directions.
They are like two points of a triangle.
The hot, glowing point is open.

What is it like, without this top point?
No hot, glowing source, just skin
From skin, on skin?

Copyright Megan Kennedy 2010

Responses

  1. Great poem! Great description!

    “Open your sitbones, she says.
    I picture a dinosaur pelvis,
    Opened by two archaeologists,
    Like the wishbone at Thanksgiving dinner.”

    This was my favorite stanza.

  2. This is absolutely divine. The first stanza is the best, but the entire thing is delicious. Well done.

  3. Thanks so much, ladies! You’re both right, the first stanza is the best.

    It’s so difficult to make a poem a coherent whole! (For me, anyway). Here’s to practice.

  4. I love it! I have recently been given a set of physical therapy exercises to relieve the pain of an arthritic hip, and, while far from the meaning of your poem, I couldn’t help a little mental hop to a certain similarity.

    • Thank you! It’s really not too far from the “meaning” of my poem, since I was just trying to describe a physical and mental sensation. In fact, I usually don’t write with any “meaning” in mind — sometimes I think poetry is more like painting than prose. Anyway, I’m glad you liked it, and thanks for visiting. 🙂

  5. interesting, provocative..liked it

  6. “Turn your thighs away from each other.
    My thighs do what I ask, though I don’t know what I’m asking.” That is exactly how I feel about my Yoga class. Really fun piece to read. Thanks for the share.

  7. ‘open your sitbones’ – brilliant!

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

    • Can’t take the credit for that line — yoga instructors use very interesting language. 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

  8. I adore this, as someone new to Yoga especially… I love (and know how this line FEELS!)

    >>>> My thighs do what I ask, though I don’t know what I’m asking.

    LOVE this work!

    My Sunday Scribbling… (posted on Monday!)

  9. this mostly sounded painful to me lol – my sitbones just want to sit. Loved the poem though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

