Posted by: youareuseless | July 17, 2010

After A Visit

For Three Word Wednesday, found at threewordwednesday.com.

My hands, light as ripped paper.
They have lost their object.
Where have you gone?
My own body is now as vulgar
As an empty bottle.

Why are you hard to remember?
I know you are gone, because I am
I know you are gone, and the darkness
No longer warms me.

Your hipbone, like a rock under the sand.
A gentle word is not your body.
Your sharp insistent eyes. Your sharp insistent hands.
This praise is not your body.
You can praise me, but I will not be lovely
I will not be lovely without the orb of your mouth
To awaken me.

Copyright Megan Kennedy 2010

Responses

  1. This poem blew me away with its tone, feeling, emotion. Loved it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

