Posted by: youareuseless | July 3, 2010

Kitchen

This is for Big Tent Poetry, found here: bigtentpoetry.org

A second attempt at a conversation poem.

A question lingers. Why?

Well, why do you ask? Must a question end?
Do you wish I was at peace? Are you?

We are doing very well now.

I don’t believe you. I see how you twitch
when he speaks. He never laughs at your jokes.
But you don’t make jokes, do you? You wait
for him, or the dog.

You wouldn’t know, you haven’t lived here. We are very happy.

Then why are your eyes darting
like a rabbit in the road? It’s not
my business, it’s not
my place, I know, but —

What.

I’m glad you’re happy.

Copyright Megan Kennedy 2010

Responses

  1. lovely words…

    hope that your entry is recognized…

    Happy July 4th!
    😉

  2. It is so difficult when you want to say something, It’s there in your mind, on your lips, but the other is expecting certain things, and although you try, you end up backing away. I think you did a fine job with this. Hard conversation, harder to express. But it makes sense and all the levels of discomfort, on both sides, are apparent. Really good job.

    Elizabeth

  3. A beautiful poem with words so creatively descriptive. Your entry is a winner 🙂

  4. I personally think you nailed it.

  5. I really like your style – catching the everyday and making it something to look at, prod and probe. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll -I’m going to do the same 🙂

  6. My mind creates the scene to fit the dialog, which is captivating, if uncomfortable.

    Well done, and welcome to the Big Tent.

  7. Wonderfully creative!

  8. Reminds me of conversations had with my mother. In retrospect, she was right. ha! Well done, and welcome to the Big Tent.

    • HA! Well that might be. Thanks for the welcome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

